Jason Bright
#8 Jason Bright

Brad Jones Racing

The highly experienced, and V8 Supercars veteran, Jason Bright begins his 17th full time season in the sport in 2016, continuing his tenure at Brad Jones Racing.

Moving on from a highly successful karting career including junior and senior titles, Bright progressed to the Victorian Formula Ford Championship in 1993 ? and won races there before shifting to the national series the following year.

Winning the title in 1995, Bright moved to the US where he contested the 1996 FFord 2000 Championship, finishing second in the title race. He returned home in 1997 to secure the Australian Drivers? Championship in Formula Holden.

A taste of V8 Supercars late in 1997 led to a full time drive in 1998 with Stone Brothers Racing, where Bright winning the Bathurst 1000 with Steven Richards and finishing ninth in the championship.

Bright returned to America in 2000 to pursue his open-wheel dreams. He competed in the Indy Lights, before scoring a one-off drive with Della-Penna Racing in the Gold Coast round of the Champ Car World Series.

Bright came back to Australia and V8s in 2001, driving alongside Mark Skaife at the Holden Racing Team and finished third in points.

In 2003, Bright moved from HRT to Team Brock. Despite driving a VX Commodore for the entire season against his rivals? newer VY models, Bright led the series for much of the season, ultimately finishing fourth.

Team Brock morphed into Paul Weel Racing for the 2004 season, Bright taking a couple of round victories on his way to third place in the championship.

Bright took on a bold, new challenge in 2005, setting up his own Britek Motorsport operation, which ran other drivers while he drove for Ford Performance Racing over two seasons.

He switched to Britek in 2008 until budget restraints meant he had to call an end to the Melbourne-based squad.

Bright took his Racing Entitlements Contract to SBR, running a car for the 2009 season.

In 2010, he returned to Holden with the Albury-based Brad Jones Racing team. A string of strong performances in 2011 was highlighted by race wins at Barbagallo and Winton ? BJR?s first in V8 Supercars.

Bright again showed glimpses of speed in 2012 before returning to the winner?s circle in 2013, collecting the inaugural Jason Richards Memorial Trophy for BJR, topping an emotional weekend at Pukekohe.

Bright continued his success into 2014 with three pole positions and another victory at Pukekoke, while 2015?s highlights included podiums at Sydney Motorsport Park and Phillip Island.

Bathurst 1000 Stats
Debut: 1997 (with Alan Jones/Scott Pruett)
Starts: 19
Poles: 0 (Best Qual 2nd 2004/06)
Wins: 1 (1998)

Championship Results
1998, Stone Brothers Racing, Ford EL Falcon: 9th
1999, Stone Brothers Racing, Ford AU Falcon: 8th
2000, Dick Johnson Racing, Ford AU Falcon: 26th (Bathurst only)
2001, Holden Racing Team, Holden VX Commodore: 3rd
2002, Holden Racing Team, Holden VX Commodore: 4th
2003, Team Brock, Holden VX Commodore: 4th
2004, PWR Racing, Holden VY Commodore: 3rd
2005, Ford Performance Racing, Ford BA Falcon: 9th
2006, Ford Performance Racing, Ford BA Falcon: 5th
2007, Fujitsu Racing, Ford BF Falcon: 21st
2008, Fujitsu Racing, Ford BF Falcon: 19th
2009, Fujitsu Racing, Ford BF/FG Falcon: 19th
2010, Brad Jones Racing Holden VE Commodore Series II, 14th
2011, Brad Jones Racing Holden VE Commodore Series II, 16th
2012, Brad Jones Racing Holden VE Commodore Series II, 16th
2013, Brad Jones Racing Holden VF Commodore, 7th
2014, Brad Jones Racing Holden VF Commodore, 11th
2015, Brad Jones Racing Holden VF Commodore, 16th

ATCC/V8 Supercar Championship Series Stats
Debut: 1997 Symmons Plains (Rd 4)
Event Starts: 229
Race Starts: 519
Race Wins: 20
Poles: 7

Other Career Highlights
Winner, Bathurst 1000 ? 1998
Winner, Australian Formula Ford Championship ? 1995
Winner, Australian Drivers Championship (Formula Holden) ? 1997
Winner, Bathurst 24 Hour ? 2003
Winner, Sandown 500 ? 2006
Winner, Jason Richards Memorial Trophy ? 2013
Runner-up, Bathurst 1000 ? 2000
Runner-up, US FF2000 Championship ? 1996
Sixth, Indy Lights Championship ?


Back to full driver listing

Holden Motorsport TV


Subscribe to our mailing list

Like us on Facebook

Latest Tweets